Calligraphy Art

I saw this fabulous mural driving around today. It’s composed of text. I couldn’t read most of it, but inside the “L” I can read Temescal, Chinatown, Jingle Town and Lower Bottoms; all Oakland neighborhoods. What can you find in it?

It reminds me of Islamic text art I saw in Istanbul, which I just discovered is called a calligram: calligraphy pictogram. This one is simpler than the ones I saw.

Since Islam forbids figurative art, this seems like cheating to me, even if the text does praise Allah. Beautiful though.

Leave a Reply

