Studio Visit




customer parking

Originally uploaded by Alexis Babayan

I had noticed Lexi’s image in the EBOS directory and wanted to visit her studio, so I emailed her to see if we could set that up. Then I ran into her when she was taking down her piece at the gallery and we agreed to pick a day. So, I went today.

I thought she went straight from photos to cutting blocks but she pointed out that the image had be reversed first because it’s got lettering on it, so she draws the photo reflected in a mirror. This particular print was labor intensive because she cut every single brick in the wall! (This sign is down the block from Rock Paper Scissors Gallery, BTW.)

I want to try lino printing again; it’s been years since I did it. Our taste in imagery is so similar, I almost feel like she already did all the prints I would do! But I know mine won’t look quite the same, and it was cool to meet a kindred spirit.

Leave a Reply

