How but not Why


Painter Luc Tuymans: “It’s like I don’t know what I’m doing but I know how to do it, and it’s very strange.”

I don’t always know how to do what I’m doing, but I’m using this approach more. Starting with how instead of why is a much better way of extracting an idea because then it doesn’t come with an overlay of rationalizing and explaining. I don’t want an essay, I want a poem. A feeling, not a thought.

Starting with how also means that I just start making stuff instead of ruminating and pondering. It feels lighter and more energetic. Movement. Possibilities.

Quotation from Peter Schjeldahl‘s New Yorker article, October 2009.
Leave a Reply

